World Cup 2023: Pakistan cricket team reaches India

The Men in Green will play their first warmup match on September 29

By Web Desk
September 27, 2023
Pakistan team has landed in India for first time since 2016 - PCB

The Pakistan men's cricket team landed at the Rajiv Gandhi International Airport in Hyderabad, India on Wednesday from Dubai to participate in ICC Men's Cricket World Cup.

Pakistan squad was accompanied by more than 20 security cars as Babar Azam and his men moved to their hotel.

The national team left at 3.20am from Lahore airport and made a brief stopover in Dubai before taking a flight to India's Hyderabad.

It must be noted that Pakistan’s travel contingent consisted of 18 players and 13-player support personnel.

Less than 48 hours after landing in India, Pakistan will play their first warmup game against New Zealand on September 29 in Hyderabad.

Meanwhile, their last warmup match will be against Australia on October 3, three days before they begin their World Cup campaign by taking the Netherlands on October 6 at the same stadium.

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan.

Schedule of Pakistan's warm-up matches:

September 29 — vs New Zealand in Hyderabad

October 3 — vs Australia in Hyderabad

Pakistan's schedule for the ICC World Cup 2023:

October 6 — vs Netherlands in Hyderabad

October 10 — vs Sri Lanka in Hyderabad

October 14 — vs India in Ahmedabad

October 20 — vs Australia in Bengaluru

October 23 — vs Afghanistan in Chennai

October 27 — vs South Africa in Chennai

October 31 — vs Bangladesh in Kolkata

November 4 — vs New Zealand Bengaluru (Day match)

November 11 — vs England in Kolkata

The day matches which will start at 10:00am Pakistan Standard Time (PST) while all other matches will be day-night fixtures starting at 01:30pm (PST).

If Pakistan qualify for the semi-finals, they will play in Kolkata.

If India qualify for the semi-finals, they will play in Mumbai unless playing against Pakistan, in which case they will play in Kolkata.