PSL 9: Rilee Rossouw replaces Sarfaraz Ahmed as Quetta Gladiators' captain

The wicketkeeper batter will be playing the PSL as a player for the first time

By Web Desk
February 13, 2024
Rilee Rossouw while playing for Quetta Gladiators. — PCB

Rilee Rossouw has replaced Sarfaraz Ahmed as Quetta Gladiators' captain for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 9, announced the franchise on Tuesday.

Sarfaraz, who led Quetta to three finals and their only title win in 2019, will participate in this year's edition only as a wicketkeeper batter.

Rossouw and Pakistan’s Saud Shakeel were the top contenders to replace Sarfaraz as the skipper but the franchise ultimately decided to go with the prolific South African batter, who was one of their most important players during the 2019 PSL title win.

Earlier, Quetta’s owner Nadeem Omer, who has always praised Sarfaraz, confirmed to Geo News that the wicketkeeper batter aims to take a break from captaincy.

"Sarfaraz wants to take a break from captaincy with new head coach Shane Watson set to decide who will lead the side after consulting with the team management," Nadeem said.

Nadeem also expressed his satisfaction with the return of Shane Watson, who joined the franchise in 2018 and was the leading run-scorer hitting 430 runs at a strike rate of 143.81, a performance which earned him the Player-of-the-Tournament award of the 2019 campaign.

He also urged Kevin Pietersen to return to the franchise and combine forces with Watson to guide Quetta to glory.

"The old family of Quetta Gladiators has started coming together again. Pietersen should also come with Quetta Gladiators in some role," he said.

It must be noted that PSL 9 will be held in four cities — Karachi, Lahore, Multan and Rawalpindi — with the final of the event taking place at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi on March 18.

Quetta Gladiators' PSL 9 squad

Rilee Rossouw (Platinum), Mohammad Wasim, Jason Roy, Wanindu Hasaranga (all Diamond), Sarfaraz Ahmed (Brand Ambassador) Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain (all Gold), Mohammad Amir, Will Smeed (Silver) Saud Shakeel, Sajjad Ali, Usman Qadir, Adil Naz, Khawaja Nafay, Akeal Hosein, Sohail Khan, Omair Yousuf, Sherfane Rutherford, Bismillah Khan (partial replacement for Wanindu Hasaranga)

Quetta Gladiators PSL 9 schedule

February 18, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore

February 19, 2024 Lahore Qalandars v Quetta Gladiators, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore

February 22, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Islamabad United, Gaddafi Stadium Lahore

February 25, 2024 Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators, Multan Cricket Stadium

February 29, 2024 Karachi Kings v Quetta Gladiators, National Bank Stadium

March 2, 2024 Islamabad United v Quetta Gladiators, Pindi Cricket Stadium

March 6, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Karachi Kings, Pindi Cricket Stadium

March 8, 2024 Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators, Pindi Cricket Stadium

March 10, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Lahore Qalandars, National Bank Stadium

March 12, 2024 Quetta Gladiators v Multan Sultans, National Bank Stadium