Chairman PCB Zaka Ashraf meets Sarfaraz Ahmed

Pacer Shahnawaz Dahani was also present

By Web Desk
October 27, 2023
Sarfaraz Ahmed (R) meets Zaka Ashraf (L). — Screengrab

The Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Management Committee, Zaka Ashraf, met with the former captain of Pakistan and current Test batter Sarfaraz Ahmed in Lahore on Friday.

The meeting took place after Sarfaraz guided Karachi Whites to a title triumph in the Quaid e Azam Trophy on Thursday beating Faisalabad in the final.

"PCB Management Committee Chairman Mr Zaka Ashraf met Sarfaraz Ahmed and Shanawaz Dahani at the Pakistan cricket headquarters in Lahore," PCB said in a press release.

"The PCB Chairman congratulated Karachi Whites for winning the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24 and hailed the leadership qualities of their captain Sarfaraz Ahmed while also appreciating the performance of fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani.

"Mr Zaka Ashraf also reaffirmed PCB's commitment to continue to work for the players' well-being and support of regional cricket."

Earlier on Thursday, Karachi Whites secured their fifth Quaid-e-Azam Trophy title after overcoming Faisalabad at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, prevailing by 456 runs on the final day of the five-day final.

Faheem Ashraf, the captain of Faisalabad, was the final batter to be dismissed, caught off the bowling of Ghulam Mudassar, igniting celebrations for the team led by Sarfaraz Ahmed, who walked away with a cash prize of Rs.10 million.

Karachi Whites' previous Quaid-e-Azam Trophy victory was in the 2001-02 season when they defeated Peshawar in the final by eight wickets. Prior to that, they achieved a hat-trick of titles in 1990-91, 1991-92, and 1992-93.

Saim Ayub of Karachi Whites, for his innings of 203 in the first and 109 in the second, was awarded the player of the final.

Sarfaraz Ahmed, the captain of the victorious team with 697 runs and 28 dismissals, was named the player of the tournament.

From Faisalabad, Khurram Shahzad (36 wickets in eight matches) and Ali Shan (28 catches and one stumping) were declared the best bowler and best wicket-keeper of the tournament, respectively.