Mohammad Amir’s participation in Ireland T20I series in doubt

Pakistan will play the first T20I in Dublin on May 10

By Web Desk
May 07, 2024
Mohammad Amir is still waiting to receive Ireland's visa. — PCB

Pakistan’s pacer Mohammad Amir did not travel with the Pakistan cricket team which left the country on Tuesday morning and there is still no clarity on the left-armer’s visa status, reported ESPN Cricinfo on Tuesday.

Amir, 32, returned to international cricket after a four-year absence last month during a T20I series against New Zealand at home where he featured in four matches. He was named in Pakistan’s squad for the T20I series against Ireland and England which was announced earlier this month.

Amir became a permanent resident of the United Kingdom due to his marriage to British national Narjis Khatun. He has already visited Ireland in 2018 but is yet to receive a visa this year.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is in constant touch with Cricket Ireland as the board believes that it was the hosts’ responsibility to ensure the timely issuance of the visa. Pakistan’s management member Mohammad Yousuf’s visa was also delayed but he got it timely enough to travel with the team.

Both the PCB and Amir continue to wait for the visa as the Pakistani squad is expected to land in Dublin on Wednesday morning. They will play all three T20Is there.

Remember, after Pakistan’s tour of Ireland concludes, they will travel to the United Kingdom to participate in the four-match T20I series before the T20 World Cup 2024 begins.


Ireland: Paul Stirling (Capt), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan

Pakistan's schedule of upcoming matches

Tour of Ireland

May 10: First T20I at Clontarf

May 12: Second T20I at Clontarf

May 14: Third T20I at Clontarf

Tour of England

May 22: First T20I at Leeds

May 25: Second T20I at Birmingham

May 28: Third T20I at Cardiff

May 30: Fourth T20I at The Oval