PAK vs IRE: Mohammad Amir likely to miss T20I series

Matches against Ireland are starting from May 10 in Dublin

May 08, 2024
Mohammad Amir bowls during a practice session. - PCB

KARACHI: Pakistan pacer Mohammad Amir's participation in the three upcoming T20 matches against Ireland is doubtful since he is yet to receive a visa, Geo News reported.

The Men in Green have reached Ireland for the series, starting from May 10 but Amir is still in Pakistan.

As per details, if Amir's visa is not secured by Thursday, he will have to link up with the team in Leeds on May 15 for the T20Is series in England. The seasoned fast bowler has played a Test in Ireland back in 2018.

Meanwhile, no alternative player has been lined up to replace Amir if he misses out on the matches.

His potential absence has disrupted Pakistan's World Cup preparations, given his crucial role in the squad.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is actively engaging with Cricket Ireland regarding Amir's visa situation. All players, including Amir, had their visa applications processed immediately after the Kakul camp, but anxiety has gripped the PCB headquarters as Amir's visa approval remains pending.

Remember, after Pakistan’s tour of Ireland concludes, they will travel to the United Kingdom to participate in the four-match T20I series before the T20 World Cup 2024 begins.


Ireland: Paul Stirling (Capt), Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Khan

Pakistan's schedule of upcoming matches

Tour of Ireland

May 10: First T20I at Clontarf

May 12: Second T20I at Clontarf

May 14: Third T20I at Clontarf

Tour of England

May 22: First T20I at Leeds

May 25: Second T20I at Birmingham

May 28: Third T20I at Cardiff

May 30: Fourth T20I at The Oval