SNGPL win President's Trophy final

The match concluded on the third day of the five-day final

By Web Desk
February 11, 2024
SNGPL not only secured the trophy but also claimed the prize money of PKR three million - PCB

SNGPL secure a commanding 519-run victory over WAPDA in the final of the President’s Trophy Grade-I at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on the back of Bilawal Bhatti's century and Shahnawaz Dahani's nine wickets

The match concluded on the third day of the five-day final. SNGPL not only secured the trophy but also claimed the prize money of PKR three million. WAPDA had to settle for the runners-up trophy and a prize of PKR 1.5 million.

Beginning their second innings with an overnight score of 121 for five in 36 overs, SNGPL declared their innings at 346 for eight in 82 overs, courtesy of a century by Bilawal Bhatti (101, 114b, 14x4s, 2x6s) and 91 from Mubasir Khan. The pair forged a 108-run partnership for the seventh wicket. Mubasir’s innings included 14 fours and a six.

Asif Afridi was the most successful bowler for WAPDA, taking five wickets for 149 runs.

In pursuit of 686 to win, WAPDA were dismissed for 166 for nine in 32 overs. Ayaz Tasawar, batting at number six, top-scored for his side with a 30-ball 51, hitting seven fours and three sixes. Test batter Umar Akmal, who scored 28 runs in the first innings, did not bat in the second innings due to illness.

Right-arm fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani, who claimed seven wickets in the first innings, took two scalps in the second innings, finishing with match figures of 94 runs for nine wickets. Left-arm pacer Mir Hamza was the most successful bowler in the second innings, capturing three wickets for 50 runs in nine overs.

Scores in brief:

SNGPL beat WAPDA by 519 runs

SNGPL 479-7, 80 overs (Sahibzada Farhan 161, Saud Shakeel 123 not out, Kamran Ghulam 101, Mubasir Khan 44; Tahir Hussain 2-78, Iftikhar Ahmed 2-105) and 346-8 declared, 82 overs (Bilawal Bhatti 101, Mubasir Khan 91, Abid Ali 38, Saud Shakeel 34, Kamran Ghulam 28; Asif Afridi 5-149, Ali Shafique 2-53)

WAPDA 140 all out, 34.4 overs (Iftikhar Ahmed 52, Umar Akmal 28; Shahnawaz Dahani 7-42, Mir Hamza 2-30) and 166-9, 32 overs (Ayaz Tasawar 51, Umar Abid Kayani 40; Mir Hamza 3-50, Bilawal Bhatti 2-29, Shahnawaz Dahani 2-52)

Player of the match – Shahnawaz Dahani and Sahibzada Farhan (SNGPL) PKR 100,000

Player of the tournament – Abdul Faseeh (KRL, 637 runs from six matches, 3x100s, 1x50) and Mohammad Rameez Jnr (Ghani Glass, 42 wickets from five matches, five five-wicket hauls) PKR 100,000

Best batter of the tournament – Abdul Faseeh (KRL) PKR 100,000

Best bowler of the tournament – Mohammad Rameez Jnr (Ghani Glass) PKR 100,000

Best wicket-keeper of the tournament – Shahbaz Javed (Ghani Glass, 26 dismissals) PKR 100,000