Three SNGPL batters hit centuries on day one of President's Trophy final

Pindi Cricket Stadium is hosting the match

By Web Desk
February 09, 2024
SNGPL posted a total of 479 for seven in 80 overs - PCB

Kamran Ghulam, Sahibzada Farhan, and Saud Shakeel achieved centuries for SNGPL against WAPDA on the first day of the President’s Trophy Grade-I final at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi.

After being inserted to bat, SNGPL posted a total of 479 for seven in 80 overs. Following the early dismissal of Test cricketer Abid Ali without scoring, right-handed batsmen Sahibzada Farhan and Kamran Ghulam formed a solid 214-run partnership for the second wicket.

Sahibzada, who has represented Pakistan in five T20Is, top-scored for the team, accumulating 161 runs off 206 balls, including 22 fours and two sixes. Kamran, aged 28, was the second centurion for his team in the first innings, scoring 101 runs from 136 balls, featuring 16 fours.

Saud Shakeel, who has participated in 10 Test matches and was recently part of the Pakistan squad against Australia, remained unbeaten on 123 runs from 81 balls, striking 12 fours and four sixes.

The fact that SNGPL managed to maintain a run rate of around six per over in 80 overs was largely attributed to a quick-fire 44 runs off 20 balls by Mubasir Khan. Batting at number seven, the right-handed batsman hit four sixes and two fours during his innings.

For WAPDA, captain Iftikhar Ahmed and Tahir Hussain claimed two wickets each.

Brief scores:

SNGPL 479-7, 80 overs (Sahibzada Farhan 161, Saud Shakeel 123 not out, Kamran Ghulam 101, Mubasir Khan 44; Tahir Hussain 2-78, Iftikhar Ahmed 2-105)

WAPDA 5-0 (awarded five runs after SNGPL were penalised for a short-run)