PCB announces inaugural Inter-College Ramadan T20 Cup

PCB aims to popularise the sport among students and identify promising young talent for the future

By Web Desk
March 20, 2024
The tournament will be coordinated with the assistance of the respective regional bodies. - PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board has launched the inaugural Inter-College Ramadan T20 Cup, slated to be held in Lahore, Karachi, and Islamabad, featuring a total of 30 colleges.

The tournament will kick off in Lahore on March 22, while matches in Islamabad and Karachi are scheduled to start from March 23.

Through this T20 competition, the PCB aims to popularise the sport among students and identify promising young talent for the future.

The tournament will be coordinated with the assistance of the respective regional bodies, including the Lahore Regional Cricket Association (LRCA), Karachi Regional Cricket Association (KRCA), and Islamabad Regional Cricket Association (IRCA), via an organising committee established by these regions and endorsed by the PCB.

PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi: “We are thrilled to announce the inaugural Ramadan Inter-College T20 tournament to foster cricket talent within educational institutions. This tournament expresses our commitment to the game development at the grassroots level.

“The spirit of Ramadan, combined with the excitement of T20 cricket, promises an electrifying atmosphere on the field."

The tournament will witness a total of 10 teams participating in each city. These teams will be divided into two groups, with the top team of each group advancing to the final. Each team will compete in four matches during the pool stage, resulting in a total of 21 matches per city. Each team will comprise a squad of 14 players and an additional three reserve players, along with three officials.

Player participation criteria stipulate an age bracket whereby individuals born on or after 1 September 2000 will be eligible for the Inter-Collegiate T20 tournament. To qualify for participation, players must be bona fide students of their respective colleges.

Officiating umpires for the games will be selected from the PCB’s panel of umpires.

The victorious team in each city will receive a cash prize of PKR 500,000, while the runners-up in each city will secure PKR 250,000.

Furthermore, throughout the tournament, PCB selectors will be present at the venues to closely assess the players' performances.


Group A – Bahria College Zafar Camp E-8, Beaconhouse I-8, IMCB F-7/3, IMPCC H -8/4 and FROBELS

Group B – IMCB – Chakshahzad, West Minister, IMCB Degree College Sihala, IMCB F-10/3 and IMCB G-10/4

The Islamabad-leg will be played from 23 March to 3 April at the Misam Cricket Ground. The first match will take place at 8pm, while the second match will resume at 11:30pm. The first ball of the final is expected to be bowled at 9pm.


Group A – Punjab College, Superior College, Diyal Singh College, Gulberg College and Science College

Group B – Government College University, MAO College, Islamia College Civil Lines, Government College Township and Shalimar College Baghbanpura

The Lahore-leg matches will be played at the LCCA Ground with the opening and final match taking place at 8pm. The second match later in the evening will start at 11pm. On the double-header matches, the first match will start at 7:30pm.

The final of the Lahore-leg will be played at the LCCA Ground on 8 April.


Group A – Government Dehli College, Government College for Men, Happy Palace College, Beaconhouse School System and Government Jinnah College

Group B – Government National College, Government College Asifabad, Government College 36-B Landhi-4, The City School and Government Pak Shipowners College

The Karachi-leg matches will resume from 23 March and the final of the tournament will take place on 4 April. The T20 matches will be held at Eid GAH Ground Nazimabad and IBA Karachi University Ground, with the match starting at 7:30pm. 

The final of the tournament will be played at the EID GAH Ground in Nazimabad, with the first ball expected to be bowled at 7:30pm.