Wasim Akram urges new PCB members to ‘stick to their decisions’

The former pacer also asked the nation to give time to new appointments like Hafeez and Wahab

By Web Desk
December 04, 2023
Wasim Akram wished good luck to the new appointments in the PCB. — ICC

Former Pakistani pacer Wasim Akram urged the new Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) members to stick to their decision in a video he posted on X, formerly Twitter.

Wasim, who led Pakistan in the 1996 and 1999 World Cup, wished good luck to Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz and other recently retired cricketers who have assumed a role in the national cricketing body.

In his video, Wasim asked the nation to give time to them and also urged them to stick to their decisions.

“Pakistan team has reached Australia, wish them all the luck, especially to the new boys. By new boys I mean Mohammad Hafeez who joined as Team Director/Head Coach, Wahab [Riaz] as chief selector, Kamran Akmal and others, give them time,” Wasim said in a video on X.

“They are present cricketers, it is their time. Let’s give them one year. And one more advice, please don’t do a press conference every three minutes, stick to your decisions, if you’ve taken a decision, then you should be aware of the consequences, if you’ve a disturbed mind, then the team here would have the same [mind]. So please stick to your decision, be brave.”

While the former left-handed pacer didn’t mention which decision he was referring to, he may have been talking about the removal of ex-cricketer Salman Butt, who was removed as consultant to chief selector just two days after his appointment.

It must be noted that the Pakistan team is currently in Australia to prepare for the much-awaited Test series between the two sides.


Australia: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Boland, Cameron Green, Lance Morris

Pakistan: Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia tour schedule:

Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra

1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium

2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)