Inzamam-ul-Haq explains Hasan Ali’s inclusion in Pakistan’s World Cup squad

Pacer hasn’t played ODI cricket since 2022

By Web Desk
September 22, 2023
Hasan Ali has replaced injured Naseem Shah in Pakistan's squad. - AFP

Pakistan chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq explained the inclusion of pacer Hasan Ali in national men’s squad for the ICC World Cup 2023.

Ali has replaced the injured Naseem Shah in Pakistan’s squad. Naseen suffered a shoulder injury at the Asia Cup 2023 and is expected to stay on the sidelines for a long period of time.

“Naseem Shah unfortunately got injured and he's our main bowler. Hasnain had an ankle operation. lhsanullah had an elbow operation. We had few options left among fast bowlers due to injuries,” Inzamam said in a press conference while announcing the squad.

“Hasan Ali bowled well in the LPL and elsewhere recently. He is experienced and has played well for Pakistan previously in big events. Once Naseem Shah was ruled out, we also needed a bowler who could bowl with the new ball, and I think Hasan Ali is a great choice. He bowls well with the old ball too and is a team man as well. He brings energy into the team,” he added.

Ali last played an ODI match for Pakistan in 2022 against West Indies in Multan. 

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Friday the men's squad which will take part in this year's ICC World Cup.

The squad will be led by prolific batter Babar Azam. 

Pakistan made two changes to the squad which played in the Asia Cup 2023 with all-rounder Faheem Ashraf excluded and wicketkeeper-batter Mohammad Haris dropping down to reserves. 

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan

The ICC World Cup 2023 will take place in India with 10 teams fighting for the elusive title across 10 venues from October 5 to November 19, with the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad hosting the tournament opener and the final.

The Cricket World Cup will be played in the round-robin format with all teams playing against each other for a total of 45 league matches.

The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals, which will be held in Mumbai on November 15 and in Kolkata on November 16. The semi-finals and the final will have reserve days.