Abbas Afridi takes hat-trick in GT20 Canada

The pacer took five wickets

By Web Desk
August 05, 2023
Abbas Afridi celebrates after taking a wicket — GT20 Canada

Pakistan’s pacer Abbas Afridi caused havoc during the match between Vancouver Knights and Montreal Tigers in GT20 Canada in Brampton, on Saturday.

Afridi, 22, took a total of five wickets for 29 runs including an incredible hat-trick which helped his team restrict Knights to a total of 137 in 20 overs.

Afridi started his magical spell by removing Vritiya Aravind for just seven runs.

After Aravind’s wicket, Knights’ Mohammad Rizwan and Corsbin Bosch formed a 57-run partnership and at one point it looked like they will be able to put a great total on the scoreboard but Afridi made sure that it will not happen.

Batting at 36, Bosch was removed by Afridi and his wicket turned out to be a collapse for Knights as they ended up losing three wickets in three balls.

After Bosch’s wicket, came South Africa’s hard-hitter and also Knights’ skipper Rassie van der Dussen to bat not knowing what is waiting for him.

Afridi got him with an LWB on his first ball and sent the South African back to the pavilion.

After Dussen, Afghanistan’s Najibullah Zadran, a left-handed aggressive batter, walked out of the pavilion to face the 22-year-old on a hat-trick ball.

Afridi completed his hat-trick by getting Zadran and created history. However, that was not it for the Pakistani pacer, he then took one more wicket and completed a fifer by getting Fabian Allen’s wicket.

Afridi took five out of six wickets taken by the Tigers.

At the time this story was filed, the Tigers were batting at 30-4 in five overs.

It must be noted that Afridi is the nephew of the legendary Pakistani fast bowler Umar Gul, who played a key role in the Men in Green’s triumphant T20 World Cup campaign in 2009.

He was also the top-wicket taker of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight with 23 wickets in just 11 innings.


Vancouver Knights: Rayyan Pathan, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Corbin Bosch, Rassie van der Dussen (c), Vriitya Aravind, Harsh Thaker, Najibullah Zadran, Fabian Allen, Ravinderpal Singh, Ruben Trumpelmann, Junaid Siddique

Montreal Tigers: Muhammad Waseem, Chris Lynn (c), Srimantha Wijeratne (wk), Dipendra Singh Airee, Sherfane Rutherford, Dilpreet Singh, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite, Kaleem Sana, Aayan Afzal Khan, Abbas Afridi