Top New Zealand players likely to miss Pakistan tour

New Zealand are scheduled to play five T20Is and as many ODIs in Pakistan during IPL

By Web Desk
March 20, 2023
New Zealand's ODI squad - New Zealand Cricket

New Zealand's upcoming tour of Pakistan will clash with the cash-rich Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. 

The Kiwis are scheduled to return to Pakistan to play five T20Is and as many ODIs in Lahore, Rawalpindi, and Karachi. The tour is scheduled from April 14 to May 7. 

IPL's 16th edition will start on March 31 in Ahmedabad. New Zealand Cricket (NZC) had confirmed to release its players for IPL season 16. 

Kane Williamson (Gujarat Titans), Tim Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders), Devon Conway, and Mitchell Santner (both Chennai Super Kings) have been given permission to leave the upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka and join their teams prior to the start of latest IPL edition. 

Finn Allen (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Lockie Ferguson (KKR) and Glenn Phillips (Sunrisers Hyderabad) will join their teams after playing first ODI against Sri Lanka which is scheduled on March 25. 

The other New Zealand players who will play in IPL season 16 are Kyle Jamieson (CSK) and Trent Boult (Rajasthan Royals). 

As a result, top New Zealand players will miss the Pakistan tour due to their IPL commitments. 

Earlier this year, a full-strength New Zealand side traveled to Pakistan for playing three ODIs. They beat Pakistan in the series by 2-1. 

New Zealand team will travel to Pakistan from Sri Lanka after completing their tour. NZC is expected to announce their squads for Pakistan tour during their ongoing tour of Sri Lanka. 

Meanwhile, Pakistan will play three T20Is against Afghanistan in Sharjah. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has given rest to its players including regular captain Babar Azam. 

Shadab Khan will lead a young T20I squad against Afghanistan. 

T20I Squad against Afghanistan

Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan

Reserved players: Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah, Usama Mir


Mar 24 - First T20I - Sharjah

Mar 26 - Second T20I - Sharjah

Mar 27 - Third T20I - Sharjah 

Revised Pakistan v New Zealand schedule

14 Apr – 1st T20I, Lahore

15 Apr – 2nd T20I, Lahore

17 Apr – 3rd T20I, Lahore

20 Apr – 4th T20I, Rawalpindi

24 Apr – 5th T20I, Rawalpindi

26 Apr – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi

30 Apr – 2nd ODI, Karachi

3 May – 3rd ODI, Karachi

5 May – 4th ODI, Karachi

7 May – 5th ODI, Karachi