PAK vs AFG: Shadab to lead Pakistan as PCB announce squad for T20I series

PCB has given rest to main players including Babar Azam

By Web Desk
March 13, 2023
Pakistan's T20I squad - PCB

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Monday, announced the T20I squad against Afghanistan via a press conference in Lahore. 

The PCB has given rest to its senior players including regular captain Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf and Fakhar Zaman. 

During the presser, PCB management committee chairman Najam Sethi shared that they have given rest to their senior players only after taking them in confidence. 

"No one is out. We are just giving rest to our senior players to try young blood who has performed in the Pakistan Super League (PSL)," said Sethi. 

"I have personally talked to Babar, Shaheen, Haris, Fakhar, and Rizwan that we want to give them rest and try some young players. They understood our point and we were good to go with our plan," the PCB boss said. 

While addressing speculations about sidelining Babar and company, Sethi confirmed that Babar will remain their captain. 

"We see the Afghanistan series as preparation for our youngsters. We are not going there to win only. Our target is to try our youngsters and take an idea if they are prepared for international challenges," he said. 

"Babar is and will remain our captain until he himself decides his captaincy future. He is our star with so many performances. I can assure you that all the players including Babar, who have been given rest, will come back in our next series," he concluded

T20I Squad against Afghanistan

Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Zaman Khan

Reserved players: Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah, Usama Mir 


Mar 24 - First T20I - Sharjah 

Mar 26 - Second T20I - Sharjah 

Mar 27 - Third T20I - Sharjah