PAK vs NZ: Pakistan post 179-run target in final New Zealand T20I

The hosts need to win the game to level series

By Web Desk
April 27, 2024
Fakhar Zaman plays a shot. - PCB

Pakistan have posted 178/5 in the final T20I of the series against New Zealand at Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday, April 27.

The Men in Green will have to defend 179-run target in order to level the series. If New Zealand chase this down, they will win the five-match series 3-1.

The hosts had a disappointing start with Saim Ayub only making 1 run. He was dismissed by William O’Rourke in the second over.

Usman Khan joined captain Babar Azam and the pair recovered well by scoring quickly. Usman, playing his fourth T20, made 31 off 24 balls with the help of four boundaries.

Meanwhile, Babar looked solid tonight with his strokes. The 29-year-old registered his 34th fifty in T20Is and also claimed the record for most fours in the history of the format.

Babar has now 409 fours in 108 innings, which took him above Ireland’s Paul Stirling who hit 407 fours in 136 innings.

His innings was cut short by Ben Sears on 69 off 44 balls. He smacked six fours and two maximums at a strike rate of 129.16.

On the other hand, Fakhar Zaman took charge in the second half of the innings and continued his form from the last game.

He finished on 43 off 33 balls which included five boundaries.

Shadab Khan played 15-run cameo off just five balls which pushed Pakistan total to 170+.

Remember, Green Shirts only made one change from their playing XI which took place in the fourth T20I in Lahore where they were handed a narrow four-run defeat. Pacer Shaheen Afridi came in place of Zaman Khan.

Meanwhile, for the visitors, Tim Seifert, Cole McConchie and Zakary Foulkes made their way back into the squad.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Usman Khan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (c), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Zak Foulkes, Cole McConchie, James Neesham, Will O'Rourke, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi