What will be Pakistan’s game plan for Perth Test?

The first Test will begin on December 14

December 09, 2023
Shan Masood (L) and Khurram Shahzad (R) share a moment. — PCB

Pakistan’s three-match Test series against Australia is set to begin in Perth from December 14 and the Green Shirts have been with a major blow on Saturday.

It was reported that mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed is likely to miss the Perth Test after the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) received his MRI report.

Although the extent of the spinner’s injury isn’t serious, but the team doesn’t want to risk him as he is considered one of Pakistan’s most important weapons in red-ball cricket.

For the Perth Test, Pakistan is considering going without a proper spinner in their playing XI, sources reported on Saturday.

Pakistan are thinking of going with four pacers — Shaheen Afridi, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, and Khurram Shahzad — including a non-regular spinner.

The playing XI will be announced after thoroughly analysing the pitch and weather conditions.

It is worth mentioning that Perth has one of the bounciest tracks in the world and the decision to go with four pacers could turn out to be very beneficial for the Men in Green.

It must be noted that the four-day match between Pakistan and the PM XI was called off due to a freak storm in Canberra.

According to Cricket Australia, a massive electrical storm battered the region on Friday with the winds blowing off the covers over the Manuka Oval pitch and exposing it to heavy rain.

The game was called off over safety concerns after the umpires and captains inspected the pitch on Saturday.

Australia tour schedule

1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium

2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)


Australia: (first Test only): Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner

Pakistan: Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi