PAK vs IND: Controversy surrounds ticket prices for T20 World Cup 2024 clash

Former IPL commissioner alleged ICC of selling ticket at a price of $20,000

By Web Desk
May 23, 2024
Rohit Sharma and Babar Azam at the toss. - ICC

India and Pakistan will rekindle their rivalry at the T20 World Cup 2024 on June 9 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

When these two adversaries faced off in the last T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli delivered one of the best innings in the history of the competition, and the match quickly became legendary.

Beginning on Saturday, June 1, the United States and the Caribbean Islands will co-host the T20 World Cup, with the final scheduled for Saturday, June 29.

Meanwhile, according to the former IPL commissioner Lalit Modi, tickets for the highly anticipated match being held are offered for as much as $20,000 (Rs. 5566180) per seat.

He believes that the International Cricket Council (ICC) intends to put profits ahead of the game promotion.

According to the ICC, tickets for the competition range in price from $300 (sold out) to $10,000.

Screengrab of Lalit Modi's tweet.

“Shocked to learn that ICC is selling tickets for Diamond Club at $20000 per seat for the #indvspak WC game. The WC in the US is for game expansion & fan engagement, not a means to make profits on gate collections. $2750 for a ticket It’s just #notcricket #intlcouncilofcrooks,” he added.

Due to strong demand prices for India-Pakistan games have previously skyrocketed, with several instances of tickets being sold for more than ten times their initial price.

Since 2013, due to political tensions, India and Pakistan have not played a bilateral series, which has increased the excitement around the games whenever the two countries play each other in the Asia Cup or the ICC events.

India’s World Cup campaign will begin on Wednesday, June 5, in New York against Ireland and continue the following day in the same city against Pakistan. Prior to concluding their Group A campaign against Canada, they will play the hosts, the USA, next.