Australia beat Scotland to take England into Super 8 of T20 World Cup 2024

England needed Australia to win today in order to qualify for Super 8

By Web Desk
June 16, 2024
Stoinis plays a shot against Scotland. - AFP

Australia beat Scotland by five wickets in a crucial T20 World Cup 2024 Group B match on Sunday at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia.

Australia's win today also ensured that defending champions England also qualified for the Super 8 due to superior net run-rate as compared with Scotland. England and Scotland finished the group stage with five points each. 

Australia, with four wins in as many matches, also made their way into the Super 8. 

Chasing a target of 181 runs, Australia reached home in 19.4 overs with the help of fifties by Marcus Stoinis and Travis Head.

Head scored 68 runs in 49 balls, meanwhile Stoinis played an explosive knock of 59 runs in 29 balls. 

"The plan was to get yourself in and hit it hard along the ground. And then access from there. There's a strong breeze, which meant that end was easier to hit from. The pitch was also very good. Head picked his bowlers and pretty much turned the game in that over with three sixes even though he got out. I have been fortunate to play consistently for the last 3-4 months starting with the IPL but there's no substitute for confidence. That's the recipe we all try to keep a hold of," Stoinis said after being named Player of the Match.

Mark Watt and Safyaan Sharif claimed two wickets each for Scotland.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and decided to field first against Scotland.

Batting first, Scotland scored 180-5 in 20 overs courtesy an impressive 34-ball 60 from Brandon McMullen. His innings included two fours and six maximums. 

Captain Richie Berrington scored 42 unbeaten runs in 31 balls with the help of a four and two sixes.

George Munsey also added 35 runs in 23 balls at the top of the batting order.  

Glenn Maxwell claimed 2-44 in four overs, meanwhile Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar bagged one each. 


Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Mitchell Marsh (capt), 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Tim David, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Ellis, 11 Adam Zampa.

Scotland: 1 George Munsey, 2 Michael Jones, 3 Brandon McMullen, 4 Richie Berrington (capt), 5 Matthew Cross (wk), 6 Michael Leask, 7 Chris Greaves, 8 Mark Watt, 9 Chris Sole, 10 Brad Wheal, 11 Safyaan Sharif.