Euro 2024: UEFA confirm major rule change

Germany will play tournament's opener against Scotland June 14

By Web Desk
May 03, 2024
Germany is hosting the competition.- UEFA

UEFA has confirmed countries participating in this summer's European Championships in Germany will have 26-man squads, Sky Sports reported.

The proposal was initially put forward during a gathering of all the nations' coaches in Dusseldorf last month. However, during a meeting of the UEFA national competitions committee on April 22.

The delegates voted in favour of altering the regulations for Euro 2024, expanding the squad limit from 23 players to 26. This change was officially approved on Friday.

UEFA also confirmed squads must be named by 11 pm (UK time) on June 7, with England and Scotland both in friendly action that evening as the Three Lions face Iceland at Wembley while Steve Clarke's side host Finland at Hampden Park.

Enlarged squads were utilised in the last Euros in 2021 as a measure to aid nations in dealing with the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic.

This latest decision looks set to signify that 26-player squads will become the standard for all UEFA national competitions going forward.

The news will be a boost for Gareth Southgate and Clarke, with both England and Scotland significantly impacted by injuries, with the start of the Euros now just six weeks away.

England's Euro 2024 campaign gets under way on June 16 when they face Serbia while Scotland take on hosts Germany in the opening game of the tournament on June 14.

Once again, the 24-team tournament is split into six groups of four. The top two of each group qualify automatically for the last-16 and the four top-ranked third-placed finishers will join them.

In total, 24 teams will participate in the tournament with Poland, Ukraine and Georgia progressing via the play-offs.

What are the Euro 2024 groups?

Group A - Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland

Group B - Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania

Group C - Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England

Group D - Poland, Netherlands, Austria, France

Group E - Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Ukraine

Group F - Turkey, Georgia, Portugal, Czech Republic