Virat Kohli overtakes Ricky Ponting to become second highest-run scorer in ODI World Cup history

The right-handed batter scored 54 runs before becoming Pat Cummins' victim

By Web Desk
November 19, 2023
Virat Kohli (R) surpassed Ricky Ponting's (L) World Cup run tally. — AFP/Reuters 

Indian star batter Virat Kohli surpassed the legendary Australian batter Ricky Ponting and became the second-highest run-scorer in the history of the ODI World Cup on Sunday.

Australia, looking for their sixth World Cup, are playing the in-form and undefeated India, who eye their first ICC trophy since 2013, in front of more than 130,000 spectators at the biggest stadium in the world.

Kohli scored 54 runs during India's innings and took his ODI World Cup run tally to 1795 in 37 matches at an impressive average of 59.83. He bagged five centuries and 12 fifties in the process with the highest score being 117 against New Zealand in this year's mega event.

Ponting amassed a total of 1743 in 46 matches with an average of 45.86 which included five hundreds and six fifites. Meanwhile, Sachin Tendulkar remained the top scorer in ODI World Cup history as The Little Master struck a whopping 2278 runs in 45 matches at an astounding 56.95 average.

Kohli is writing his own script in the World Cup 2023 as the 35-year-old has scored a total of 765 runs, which is the most by any batter in a single edition, in 11 innings at a staggering average of 95.62 with three centuries and six fifties.

It must be noted that the Indian batting lineup considerably apart from some batters as the team that was scoring 300+ for fun, during the league stage, was restricted to 240 in 50 overs courtesy of the astonishing bowling display by Pat Cummins and his troops.

By the time this story was filed, Australia were batting at 93-3 with Travis Head (40) and Marnus Labuschagne (10) still on the crease in 17 overs.

Earlier, Australia captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to field first against India.

Playing XIs

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj