India vs Australia: Highest run chases in World Cup final history

India have set a 241-run target for Australia in Ahmedabad

By Web Desk
November 19, 2023
Australian players celebrate together as India's Ravindra Jadeja walks back to the pavilion. — AFP

The final of the ICC World Cup 2023 is currently underway between India and Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, on Sunday and the Aussies have to chase a 241-run target to clinch their record sixth title.

The Indian batting lineup failed considerably apart from some batters as the team that was scoring 300+ for fun, during the league stage, was restricted to 240 in 50 overs courtesy of the astonishing bowling display by Pat Cummins and his troops.

The target doesn't seem to be too big but the way the pitch behaved in the first innings, provided there is no dew factor, Indian bowlers can trouble the Aussies.

Out of 12 World Cup finals played before today, only five times the team batting second was able to emerge triumphant with India being one of them as the Blues, for at least the next four years, will hold the record for the highest chase in the World Cup final.

Year Target 
1996Australia scored 242 Sir Lanka
1999Pakistan scored 133Australia
2011Sri Lanka scored 275India
2015New Zealand scored 184Australia
2019New Zealand scored 241England (Super Over)

Can India defend the 241-run target and break the streak of the chasing side winning the World Cup finals as the last three titles have gone to the teams batting second.

It is worth mentioning that India's maiden World Cup won came in 1983 under the leadership of Kapil Dev, where the Blues successfully defended 184-run target against the mighty West Indies side by getting them all out for just 140 runs.

Earlier, Australia captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to field first against India.

Rohit Sharma´s India have won all their 10 matches at the tournament and retain the winning XI from their 70-run semi-final win over New Zealand in Mumbai on Wednesday.

Rohit said he would have opted to bat first had he won the toss.

Playing XIs

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj