Zainab's brother Hussain will join national training camp

He also worked with Multan Sultans in this year's PSL

By Web Desk
June 08, 2023
Hussain Abbas Mirza (L) and Zainab Abbas with Hussain (R) - Twitter/zainababbasofficial

Hussain Mirza, the younger brother of Pakistan's renowned presenter Zainab Abbas, will join the upcoming national training camp in Lahore. 

According to reports, Mirza will work as the strength and conditioning coach. He will be available to the players during the specialised camps for spinners, fast bowlers and batters. 

Previously, Mirza worked as the strength and conditioning specialist for Multan Sultans in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 this year. 

He had also worked with the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Crystal Palace Football Club. 

National training camp ahead of Sri Lanka Test tour will start at the National Cricket Academy (NCA), Lahore on June 10.

Pakistan's captain in all three formats, Babar Azam and wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan will miss the camp because they are traveling for Hajj in the second week of June.

Sarfaraz Ahmed will miss the camp due to personal commitments whereas Mohammad Nawaz is recovering from finger injury. Players including Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan, who are playing in County Cricket, will complete their contracts.

As many as thirteen spinners, 11 fast bowlers, and 14 batters will undergo training camps from June 10 to 21. 

List of invited players

Spinners – Abrar Ahmed, Ali Asfand, Arafat Minhas, Faisal Akram, Mohammad Junaid, Mehran Mumtaz, Mubasir Khan, Noman Ali, Qasim Akram, Sajid Khan, Sufiyan Muqeem, Usama Mir and Zahid Mehmood

Fast bowlers - Aamir Jamal, Arshad Iqbal, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Ali, Naseem Shah and Shahnawaz Dahani

Batters – Abdullah Shafique, Haris Sohail, Haseebullah, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Huraira, Omair Bin Yousuf, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel and Tayyab Tahir


For spinners – 10 till 15 June

Fast bowlers – 16 till 21 June