South Africa captain lauds 'clever' de Kock on Fakhar Zaman run-out

Web Desk
South Africa captain Bavuma lauds Quinton de Kock on Fakhar Zaman run-out 

South Africa white-ball captain Temba Bavuma has heaped praises on wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock for his “clever” approach in getting Fakhar Zaman run-out during the second one-day international (ODI) against Pakistan on Sunday.

Fakhar was just seven runs short of scoring a double-ton when a throw by Aiden Markram from long off forced him back to pavilion.

The batsman, while taking a second run, had slowed down his running after de Kock had pointed for the ball to be thrown towards the other batsman’s end. The wicket-keeper’s gesture ensured Fakhar doesn’t reach the crease on time.

Read: Fakhar-de Kock controversial run-out sends social media into frenzy

"It was quite clever from Quinny,” Bavuma said in the post-match presentation, as reported by ESPNcricinfo. “Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game. But it was an important wicket for us. Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah it was clever from Quinny.”

According to International Cricket Council, no willful and deliberate deception and distraction is allowed. The law 41.5.1 states that "it is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball".

However, the Proteas skipper believes de Kock did not break any rule. "You've always got to look for ways especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn momentum around,” he said.

“Quinny did that - I don't think he broke the rules in any kind of way. It was a clever piece of cricket,” Bavuma added. 

Read: Fakhar Zaman misses out on double ton as Pakistan lose 2nd ODI

SA vs Pak: South Africa captain lauds de Kock on Fakhar Zaman run-out

@geosupertv