Sarfaraz vs Rizwan again as hapless Quetta take on Multan

Web Desk

Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Quetta Gladiators will take on Mohammad Rizwan’s Multan Sultans during the 14th fixture of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) on Wednesday (tonight) at National Stadium Karachi.

The two teams have so far come across six times against each other in league’s history with Quetta enjoying a slight edge in the head to head record by three wins while Multan won two with one fixture ending in a no result.

Quetta is off to a miserable start in the current edition of PSL as the franchise lost all four matches it has played this season. The team, despite being joined by stars like Dale Steyn and Faf du Plessis, is struggling to register a single victory and is placed at the bottom of the points table with zero points.


Meanwhile, things don’t look good for Multan either as the team lost three out of four matches this season. The franchise’s only victory came against Lahore Qalandars, placing them on fifth at points table, just above Quetta.

Skippers of both the franchises, who are also national team wicket-keeping competitors, are in red hot form. Rizwan is currently the highest run-scorer in the tournament with 231 runs at an average of 57.75 while Sarfaraz having scored 182 at an average of 45.50 is the leading scorer for his franchise.

Toss will play a crucial role in determining the winner as both the teams despite putting up 190+ scores this season failed to defend it. Teams batting second have won all 12 games in PSL 6 so far.

Match begins at 7pm tonight and will be broadcast live on Geo Super.


Quetta Gladiators: Sarfaraz Ahmed (C/wk), Anwar Ali, Azam Khan, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Zahid Mahmood, Chris Gayle, Dale Steyn, Tom Banton, Usman Khan Shinwari, Cameron Delport, Qais Ahmad, Abdul Nasir, Saim Ayub, Arish Ali Khan, Usman Khan, Faf du Plessis, Hassan Khan

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (C/wk), James Vince, Khushdil Shah, Chris Lynn, Sohaib Maqsood, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir, Shahid Afridi, Carlos Brathwaite, Sohail Khan, Rilee Rossouw, Adam Lyth, Imran Tahir, Sohaibullah, Shahnawaz Dhani, Sohail Tanvir, Imran Khan, Mohammad Umar

Read: More misery for Sarfaraz as Quetta Gladiators lose 4th straight

PSL 2021: Quetta Gladiators vs Multan Sultans, Match 14 Preview, March 3