Peshawar determined to put a dampener on Islamabad’s hot start

Web Desk

Peshawar Zalmi will look to snap the winning streak of two-time champions Islamabad United later tonight when the two teams face each other during the ongoing edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) at National Stadium Karachi.

The former title holders have previously played 13 matches against one another and have been equally competitive as both the teams have won six games each while one ended in a no result.

Islamabad kicked off their PSL 2021 campaign with two impressive victories against Multan Sultans and Karachi Kings, and are currently table-toppers. They have only played two matches so far this season and remain undefeated under the leadership of Shadab Khan.

Peshawar, on the other hand, were beaten by the Qalandars in their opening match. They did, however, bounced back immediately with victories in the next two games against Multan Sultans and Quetta Gladiators, chasing down successive gigantic totals of 194 and 199.

Toss will again play a crucial role as it has been the decisive factor in all eight matches played so far, with teams choosing to bat second ending up with victories.

The match begins at 7pm tonight and will be broadcast live on Geo Super.


Peshawar Zalmi: Wahab Riaz (C), Haider Ali, Kamran Akmal, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Shoaib Malik, David Miller, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ravi Bopara, Sherfane Rutherford, Amad Butt, Umaid Asif, Saqib Mahmood, Imam-ul-Haq, Muhammad Imran, Mohammad Irfan, Ibrar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir Khan

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (C), Alex Hales, Asif Ali, Fawad Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hussain Talat, Musa Khan, Zafar Gohar, Hassan Ali, Paul Stirling, Lewis Gregory, Phil Salt, Rohail Nazir, Ali Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Ahmed Saifi Abdullah, Zeeshan Zameer

PSL 2021: Islamabad United vs Peshawar Zalmi – Match 10 Preview – Feb 27