Pakistan hold on to same squad for second SA Test

Web Desk
Pakistan hold on to same squad for second Test against Proteas / Photo: PCB

Pakistan cricket selectors have retained the same 17-member squad announced for the first match against South Africa in the second Test as well, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced today.

In a media release on Wednesday, PCB confirmed that the 17 players shortlisted for the first test will be up for selection in the final Test of the series, too.

Earlier before the first match, Pakistan had named a 17-member final squad that included two openers, two wicket-keepers and two all-rounders each with four middle order batsmen, three spinners and four fast bowlers.

The home team will play under the leadership of Babar Azam. “The playing line-up with now be finalised by the captain in consultation with the head coach for the match,” PCB statement said.

Pakistan will play the second and final match of the series against South Africa on February 4 at Pindi Stadium, Rawalpindi.

Pakistan Test Squad:

Babar Azam (C), Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali , Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Tabish Khan. 

Read: Anrich Nortje calls slow pitch a challenge for pacers

Pak vs SA: Pakistan retain same squad for second Test against Proteas