South Africa T20I squad arrives in Pakistan

Web Desk
South Africa T20I squad arrives in Pakistan / Photo: PCB

South Africa’s 18-member squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series against Pakistan arrived in Lahore on Wednesday.

The visiting team will be led by wicket-keeper batsman Heinrich Klaasen in the shortest format for three matches against the hosts.

The heavily inexperienced squad includes only four players from the current 21-man Test squad present in the country including Dwaine Pretorius, Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi and George Linde.

Majority of players missing from the squad were supposed to return back home for the Test series against Australia. However, Cricket Australia on Tuesday postponed the tour.

Due to the last minute announcement by CA, no changes in Proteas T20I squad could be made as the players were already en-route to Pakistan.

“The Proteas Test squad will depart for South Africa at the conclusion of the Pakistan Test series as planned. The South African T20 squad is already en-route to Pakistan and there are no plans for the squad to be changed,” a statement from Cricket South Africa (CSA) said.

The two teams will play three T20Is at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore on February 11, 13 and 14 respectively.

SA T20I squad:

Heinrich Klaasen (captain), Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickleton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Jacques Snyman, Glenton Stuurman, Pite van Biljon.

Read: Twin incentives motivate Babar Azam's men ahead of 2nd Test

Pak vs SA: South Africa T20I squad arrives in Pakistan