Zimbabwe look to increase India’s woes using ‘home conditions’ after first T20I win

Shubman Gill didn’t have the most memorable start as India’s T20 captain

By Web Desk
July 07, 2024
Zimbabwe's skipper Sikandar Raza (L) celebrates after taking a wicket. — Zimbabwe Cricket

Zimbabwe shocked India with a 13-run win in the first T20I of a three-match series at the Harare Sports Club on Saturday and they are keen on increasing the T20 World Cup champion's woes in the remaining matches.

That was Shubman Gill’s first match as a T20I captain and things didn’t go India’s way as they were all-out for 102 while chasing the 116-run target.

Gill was India’s top scorer with 31 runs but his resilient knock was not enough as the opponent team's bowlers were at the top throughout the match.

Talking after the game, their spinner, Hamilton Masakadza, stated that Zimbabwe will make the most of their home conditions.

“We are trying to use our own conditions as much as we can against this Indian side. It's a second-string Indian side, but there are a lot of good players in there. So, we are looking forward to this series," Masakadza said in an interview with Press Trust of India (PTI).

"We've had a few plans in place. We needed them to work and obviously, we are trying to use our own conditions as much as we can against this Indian side."

He then added that in the next match, he will be eyeing skipper Gill’s wicket after removing tailender Avesh Khan in the first T20I.

“I'll be looking to take Shubman Gill's big wicket and some of the right-handers, Parag and some of the other guys in the side.

"It will be a very good challenge. They're very good spinners. Bishnoi has just had a very good tournament in the IPL and also Sundar. So it's always a very good challenge to have Asian spinners."

India vs Zimbabwe T20I series squads

India: Ꮪhubman Gill (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Shivam Dube, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.

First two T20Is: Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma and Harshit Rana.

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza (captain), Faraz Akram, Brian Bennett, Johnathan Campbell, Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Dion Myers, Antum Naqvi, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba.

All matches of the bilateral series will be contested at the Harare Sports Club.

India vs Zimbabwe T20I series remaining matches schedule:

2nd T20I — July 7

3rd T20I — July 10

4th T20I — July 13

5th T20I — July 14