Cummins bags hat-trick as Australia beat Bangladesh in rain-affected T20 World Cup 2024 match

This was the first Super 8 match for both sides

By Web Desk
June 21, 2024
Pat Cummins (L) bagged figures of 3-29 in four overs. - AFP

Australia defeated Bangladesh by 28 runs (DLS method) at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua, in the Super 8 clash of the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024.

The rain-affected match was stopped when Australia were 100-2 in 11.2 overs while chasing 141-run target set by Bangladesh. However, they were ahead of the DLS par score by 28 runs when rain interrupted the match. 

David Warner scored unbeaten 53 runs in 35 balls for the winning side in an innings which included five fours and three sixes.

Travid Head also contributed 31 runs in 21 balls, while Glenn Maxwell added 14 unbeaten runs in six balls. 

Rishad Hossain claimed both Australian wickets to fall in the innings after dismissing Head and captain Mitchell Marsh.

Earlier, Australia won the toss and decided to bowl first against Bangladesh.

Australia restricted Bangladesh to 140-8 in 20 overs after a hat-trick from star pacer Pat Cummins, who bagged figures of 3-29 in four overs. 

Cummins dismissed Mahmudullah and Mahedi Hasan on the final two balls of the 18th over. He completed his hat-trick on the first ball of the 20th over after getting rid of Towhid Hridoy.

This was the seventh hat-trick in T20 World Cups and the second for an Aussie since Brett Lee, also against Bangladesh.

Captain Najmul Hossain Shanto top-scored with 41 runs in 36 balls, while Hridoy nothced up 40 in 28. 

Adam Zampa also claimed impressive figures of 2-24 in four overs.

This was the first Super 8 match for both sides in the tournament. 


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das (wk), Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

Australia (Playing XI): Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh (c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood