India vs Afghanistan match time in T20 World Cup 2024

The Super 8 Group 1 match will be played in Barbados

By Web Desk
June 20, 2024
India will be led by star batter and opener Rohit Sharma (L), whereas leg-spinner Rashid Khan (R) will be in charge of Afghanistan. - AFP

India will face Afghanistan today in Barbados as both teams start their Super 8 campaign during the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024.

India qualified for the Super 8 after topping Group A in the initial round. Meanwhile, Afghanistan finished in second place, behind the West Indies, in Group C to make it to the next round.

India vs Afghanistan match timings

Pakistan: 7:30 PM

India: 8:00 PM

GMT: 02:30 PM

Local: 10:30 AM

India will be led by star batter and opener Rohit Sharma, whereas leg-spinner Rashid Khan will be in charge of Afghanistan.

"We feel we've got the experience and the knowledge and also the ability to counteract different situations that may present themselves. And then, of course, we are looking at things that the past games that have been played here, what have been the scores, what's the level of swing that people are experiencing, amount of turn they're getting, what's the bounce. So, you look at all of these factors and you come up with some basic ideas,” India coach Rahul Dravid said as his side gears up for three Super 8 matches in five days in Barbados, Antigua and St Lucia.

"But again, I think you've got to keep an open mind. I think that's an important thing. You might have all the stats, you might have all the data, but on the day, sometimes conditions can be very different to what you think it is. Just because a particular ground has produced certain number of runs in the past or even 10 days prior, it can be very different because the preparation of a wicket, the weather, so much can change.

"Even in the two or three days leading into a particular game, a lot can change that can force you to recalibrate and rethink. I think we will have to do that, be quick and smart and be able to do that and assess the conditions. I hope we will do that."


Afghanistan (probable): 1 Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), 2 Ibrahim Zadran, 3 Gulbadin Naib, 4 Azmatullah Omarzai, 5 Mohammad Nabi, 6 Najibullah Zadran, 7 Karim Janat, 8 Rashid Khan (capt), 9 Noor Ahmad, 10 Naveen-ul-Haq, 11 Fazalhaq Farooqi

India (probable): 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Virat Kohli, 3 Rishabh Pant (wk), 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Shivam Dube, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Jasprit Bumrah, 10 Mohammed Siraj, 11 Arshdeep Singh