AFG vs PNG: New Zealand eliminated from T20 World Cup 2024 as Afghanistan qualify for Super 8

Afghanistan beat PNG by seven wickets

By Web Desk
June 14, 2024
Afghanistan bowlers celebrate after taking a wicket. - ICC

Afghanistan defeated Papua New Guinea on Friday by seven wickets at the Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad, during the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024.

The win helped Afghanistan qualify for the Super 8 while also eliminating New Zealand from the T20 World Cup. 

Chasing a modest target of 95 runs, Afghanistan reached home in 15.1 overs for the loss of three wickets.

Openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz (7) and Ibrahim Zadran (0) were dismissed early but Gulbadin Naib scored an unbeaten 49 runs in 36 balls, with the help of four fours and two sixes, to take his side over the line. 

Earlier, a clinical bowling display helped Afghanistan dismiss PNG for only 95 runs in 19.5 overs. 

PNG quickly slipped to 17-4 in the fourth over of the innings which severely dented their chances of posting a competitive total on the board.

Wicketkeeper-batter Kiplin Doriga was the highest score for PNG with 27 runs in 32 balls.

Pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi was the pick of the bowlers for Afghanistan once again with impressive figures of 3-16 in four overs.

"I want to congratulate the entire team because we have now officially qualified for the Super 8. I feel proud," Farooqi, who was named Player of the Match, said. 

"Before the warm-up match, I was in the IPL. I did not get any chances there unfortunately. I played just one warm-up game. I know how to carry my body and I just tried to keep it simple. I try to get some wickets if there is some movement or swing. If there is nothing, then I try to go to plan B, not go for boundaries and keep it simple. We have to give our 100% and we will try our best to do it in the last match as well," he added. 

Afghanistan and the West Indies are the two teams that will be going through from Group C into the Super 8. PNG and New Zealand are now out of the tournament.    


Papua New Guinea (Playing XI): Tony Ura, Assad Vala(c), Lega Siaka, Sese Bau, Hiri Hiri, Chad Soper, Kiplin Doriga(w), Norman Vanua, Alei Nao, John Kariko, Semo Kamea.

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan(c), Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi.