Explainer: Here's why T20 World Cup Super Eight schedule is already decided

The Super Eights will consist of two groups, each with four teams

By Web Desk
June 14, 2024
T20 World Cup trophy. - ICC

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024 is currently ongoing where 20 teams are contesting. They were divided into four groups of five in the initial round. The number of teams will be reduced to eight in the next round, with the top two teams from each group progressing

The Super Eight will consist of two groups, each with four teams, from which the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

Group One in the Super Eight will include the team that finished first in Group A (A1) and Group C (C1), alongside the second-ranked teams from Group B (B2) and Group D (D2). Group Two will feature the top team from Group B (B1) and Group D (D1), as well as the second-placed teams from Group A (A2) and Group C (C2).

In previous editions, the teams finishing in the first round determined their opponents in the second round, the ICC has already set the fixtures for the Super Eight stage, subject to any unexpected outcomes.

Super Eight groups

Group 1Group 2

While forming groups of four with five teams each for Round 1, the ICC seeded teams based on the rankings. These initial round seedings will be kept by the teams for the second round.

What are the seedings of the 20 teams in the first round of the T20 World Cup?

Seedings in Round 1 

SeedingGroup AGroup B
Group C
Group D
1IndiaEnglandNew ZealandSouth Africa
2PakistanAustraliaWest IndiesSri Lanka

For example, even if Pakistan end as the top team in Group A and India finish second, it would have had no bearing on where they ended up in the Super Eight. India will still go through as A1 and Pakistan as B2.

If West Indies and Afghanistan advance from Group C, with West Indies topping the table - a potential outcome considering the current standings - they will not finish as C1. Should the higher-seeded team exit early, the replacement team will adopt their schedule in the Super Eight. Consequently, Afghanistan would replace New Zealand as C1. Every other group could see a comparable situation

As things stand as of June 13, the Super Eight groups are likely to be: India, Australia, Afghanistan (in place of New Zealand) and Bangladesh. Group B is likely to comprise the USA (over Pakistan and Ireland), Scotland (if England do not make it), West Indies and South Africa.

In the first four editions of the T20 World Cup (2007, 2009, 2010, and 2012), the ICC determined the seedings for the Super Eight groups prior to the tournament, which has happened previously.

It must be noted Super Eight will start on June 19, with the two semi-finals on June 27, two days before the final.