PAK vs CAN: Here is how Pakistan can overtake USA's NRR

The Green Shirts' route to the T20 World Cup last eight currently hangs in balance

By Web Desk
June 11, 2024
Mohammad Rizwan plays a shot during a T20 World Cup 2024 match. -- AFP

Pakistan are currently facing Canada in their third match of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Tuesday.

Canada set a 107-run target for Babar Azam and Co. and they are currently batting in New York with Azam and wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan on the pitch.

Pakistan need to win their remaining matches and hope that the United States (USA) too lose their next encounters and then the team with better Net Run Rate (NRR) will go to the Super 8. 

Pakistan need the chase the target in 13.5 overs or less and then their NRR will go above the USA.

The day belonged to Pakistan bowlers as the Canadian batters had no answers to their attack. Mohammad Amir, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf all did their part with the ball as the Green Shirts managed to restrict Canada to 106-7 in New York.

Amir struck the first blow to Canada by removing their opener Navneet Dhaliwal in the third over by ripping the stumps with an inswinger. Shaheen continued what Amir started and took his first wicket of the day in the sixth over.

Pakistani bowlers continued their attack and kept on sending Canadian batters back to the pavilion but they struggled against Aaron Johnson, who played a valiant knock and scored 52 runs on 44 balls with the help of eight boundaries.

During the innings, Haris Rauf became just the second bowler after Shadab Khan to take 100 wickets in the shorter format for Pakistan.

Amir and Rauf bagged two wickets each while Naseem and Shaheen managed to take one each.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: 1 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 2 Saim Ayub, 3 Babar Azam (capt), 4 Fakhar Zaman, 5 Usman Khan, 6 Shadab Khan, 7 Imad Wasim, 8 Shaheen Shah Afridi, 9 Naseem Shah, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Mohammad Amir

Canada: 1 Aaron Johnson, 2 Navneet Dhaliwal, 3 Pargat Singh, 4 Nicholas Kirton, 5 Shreyas Movva (wk), 6 Ravinderpal Singh, 7 Dilon Heyliger, 8 Saad Bin Zafar (capt), 9 Kaleem Sana, 10 Junaid Siddiqui, 11 Jeremy Gordon