Shocking T20I stat revealed regarding Babar, Rizwan compared to other batters

The Pakistani duo is the most successful in opening in T20Is history

By Web Desk
June 11, 2024
 Babar Azam (L) and Mohammad Rizwan having a conversation on the field. — ICC

Pakistan’s T20I opening pair of Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam is considered one of the best in the shorter-format history as they have created multiple records in the last four years.

The two also led Pakistan to their first and only win against India in World Cup history by beating the Blues in the T20 World Cup 2021 when they chased down the 152-run target without losing a single wicket.

However, as time passed, conversations about their strike rate began and fans started to question the way they play T20I.

Since 2021, as per ESPN Cricinfo, Babar and Rizwan together have scored 5,329 runs for Pakistan at an average of 44.4. Meanwhile, all the other batters (minimun five innings) managed to amass 4,992 runs at an 18.9 average.

What’s worth noting is that Babar and Rizwan, despite being more consistent, have an almost similar strike rate (129.5) as the other batters (128.5).

In the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024, Babar and Rizwan failed to perform for Pakistan in the first two matches against the United States (USA) and India in Dallas and New York respectively.

Against the USA, Babar scored 44 off 43 which couldn’t be enough as Pakistan concluded their innings at 159-7 which the USA levelled and eventually ended up winning the match after a thrilling Super Over. In the same match, Rizwan scored just nine runs.

Against India, Babar lost his wicket to Jasprit Bumrah in the fifth over after scoring just 13 runs. Meanwhile, Rizwan was on course to take Pakistan over the line but Bumrah ripped the stumps and he walked back to the pavilion with 31 off 44 runs.

Remember, Pakistan are currently facing Canada in New York today and a loss today would eliminate them from the tournament.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: 1 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 2 Saim Ayub, 3 Babar Azam (capt), 4 Fakhar Zaman, 5 Usman Khan, 6 Shadab Khan, 7 Imad Wasim, 8 Shaheen Shah Afridi, 9 Naseem Shah, 10 Haris Rauf, 11 Mohammad Amir

Canada: 1 Aaron Johnson, 2 Navneet Dhaliwal, 3 Pargat Singh, 4 Nicholas Kirton, 5 Shreyas Movva (wk), 6 Ravinderpal Singh, 7 Dilon Heyliger, 8 Saad Bin Zafar (capt), 9 Kaleem Sana, 10 Junaid Siddiqui, 11 Jeremy Gordon