T20 World Cup: Mohammad Amir nears Harbhajan Singh’s record

The Pakistani pacer won the T20 World Cup in 2009

By Web Desk
June 03, 2024
Mohammad Amir has played three T20 World Cups so far. — AFP

Pakistan’s pacer Mohammad Amir is on the verge of equalling India’s Harbhajan Singh’s T20 World Cup record of bowling the most maiden overs in the history of the tournament.

Amir recently made himself available for international cricket after taking his retirement back and was immediately named in Pakistan’s squad for the T20I series against New Zealand, Ireland and England. He was eventually included in the squad for the World Cup as well.

Amir, who was part of the 2009 T20 World Cup-winning squad, will have high expectations from him as he returned to international cricket after four years just to help the Green Shirts win the mega event.

The left-arm pacer has so far played three T20 World Cups — 2009, 2010 and 2016 — and he bowled a maiden over in each edition. In 2009, he bowled a wicket-maiden over in the final against Sri Lanka.

In the 2010 World Cup, the left-armer bowled another wicket maiden over in a group match against Australia. Meanwhile in the 2016 T20 World Cup, Amir bowled a maiden over against India.

Players with most maiden overs in T20 World Cups

4 in 18 innings — Harbhajan Singh, India

3 in 5 innings — Dilhara Fernando, Sri Lanka

3 in 10 innings — Rangana Herath, Sri Lanka

3 in 17 innings — Mohammad Amir, Pakistan

3 in 18 innings — Nuwan Kulasekara, Sri Lanka

3 in 21 innings — Ajantha Mendis, Sri Lanka

Pakistan will begin their campaign on June 6 against the United States in Dallas after which they will face arch-rivals India on June 9 in New York.

Pakistan's T20 World Cup squad

Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf.

Pakistan's T20 World Cup schedule

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill