Misbah-ul-Haq picks top two teams for T20 World Cup 2024

The former Pakistani skipper led the Green Shirts in the 2015 50-over World Cup

By Web Desk
June 01, 2024
Misbah-ul-Haq also coached the Pakistan cricket team in the past. — PCB

Former Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq picked the top two teams for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 which will be played in the United States and West Indies.

The T20 World Cup will begin at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas with the United States taking on Canada later today but the action for Pakistan will not start till June 6.

Misbah, who was part of Pakistan’s T20 World Cup-winning squad in 2009, named Australia as the hot favourites for the World Cup saying that they excelled in Asian conditions with just one spinner in the 50-over World Cup in 2023 in India.

The former skipper also named Pakistan as one of his top teams but his answer related to the Babar Azam-led unit was unique.

"The safest bet I think would be Australia. They know how to win. Whatever may be the condition. They come to Asia and win by playing with just one spinner. You can't write off Australia from any World Cup,” Misbah said on Star Sports.

“The second team is very difficult. But we have to live in Pakistan, so I’m backing them as the top second team,” he added.

Pakistan will begin their World Cup campaign on June 6 at Dallas’ Grand Prairie Stadium against the United States.

It is worth mentioning that Pakistan recently played two T20Is against England and lost both in one-sided affairs as the Green Shirts failed with the ball as well as the bat. With the World Cup around the corner, Babar Azam’s side would need to get their combination right in order to have a shot at the trophy.

Pakistan's T20 World Cup squad

Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf.

Pakistan's T20 World Cup schedule

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill