Former Indian opener does not want Rohit Sharma to open in T20 World Cup 2024

The 37-year-old will lead the Men in Blue in the mega event

By Web Desk
May 29, 2024
Rohit Sharma. - BCCI

Former Indian opener Wasim Jaffer opined that Yashasvi Jaiswal and Virat Kohli should open the batting for India in the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

Jaffer suggested that Rohit should bat at either No. 3 or 4, considering his prowess against quality spin-bowling. The veteran mentioned that batting at No. 4 should not pose a problem for a player of Rohit's calibre.

Kohli and Jaiswal should open in the World Cup," Jaffer wrote on X, formerly Twitter.

"Rohit & SKY [Suryakumar Yadav] should bat 3 and 4 depending on the start we get. Rohit plays spin really well so batting at 4 shouldn't be a concern,” he added.

Rohit has a suitable record when batting at No. 3 and 4. In 12 T20Is he has played in those positions, the Indian skipper has scored 315 runs at an average of 39.37, with four half-centuries to his name

India will start their T20 World Cup campaign on June 5 against Ireland at the newly constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

Meanwhile, the most-awaited blockbuster clash between India and Pakistan will take place on June 9. They will later play tournament co-hosts USA and Canada to wrap up their Group A matches.

In the tournament, India will be aiming to end their ICC trophy drought, having last won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. Since then, India has reached the 50-over World Cup final in 2023, semifinal in 2015 and 2019, the title clash of the ICC World Test Championship in 2021 and 2023, T20 WC final in 2014, semifinals in 2016 and 2022 but failed to secure a big ICC trophy.

India squad: Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.