Paul Collingwood, Tom Moody predict semi-finalists for T20 World Cup 2024

The event begins on June 1 in the US and West Indies

By Web Desk
May 29, 2024
Tom Moody (L) and Paul Collingwood are former cricketers. -AFP/Instagram/paulcollingwood5

Former Australian cricketer Tom Moody predicted the semi-finalists of the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024, co-hosted by the United States and the West Indies.

In an interview with an Indian sports channel, Moody said that Australia will maintain its record and play in the semi-finals. Secondly, he highlighted India as the second-most predictable team for the semi-finals. South Africa was his third choice because of their middle-order batting. Lastly, he picked England, as they have won the T20 World Cup twice.

“My first pick would be Australia because their record in ICC events is second to none. The second pick would be India, as they are a very good side with a lot of depth. They are strong in the spin department and have dynamic batters. Plus, they have a guy called Jasprit Bumrah,” Moody said.

“My third choice would be South Africa, which boasts a very strong batting-order, particularly power-hitters in their middle-order. My final choice would be England, who have won this tournament before,” he added.

Similarly, former England cricketer Paul Collingwood put forth his predictions about the semi-finalists for the forthcoming T20 World Cup.

Collingwood, the winning captain of the T20 World Cup of 2010, picked India, England, the West Indies, and Australia as the semi-finalists of the tournament.

"I'm obviously going to pick England. I believe the West Indies, playing on their home turf, have a good understanding of the ground dimensions. Australia always manages to perform well in world tournaments. My fourth pick is India," Collingwood explained.

The first ICC T20 World Cup 2024 match will be between the USA and Canada on Saturday, June 1.

All the teams will be divided into four groups; A, B, C, and D. The two teams at the top of each group will qualify for the Super Eight round. Following that, the Super Eight will be split into two groups, with the top two teams from each group moving on to the semifinals.

Groups for the T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and the United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman

Group C: New Zealand, the West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Netherlands, and Nepal


    abdullah mustafa commented 2 weeks ago

    My semifinalists for this t20 world cup Pakistan,West indies, Usa and new zealand