T20 World Cup history in numbers

We shed light on some of the records which are held by top names like Virat Kohli, Shakib Al Hasan Chris Gayle

By Ali Ahmed
May 27, 2024
The 2024 edition is expected to be bigger and better. - ICC

The cricketing world is gearing up for the T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the USA from June 1.

This is the very first time two nations are hosting the T20 World Cup together. While previously 16 teams were part of the competition, this edition will feature 20 teams and 55 matches will be played in one month.

The event is expected to be bigger and better as the teams will be tested first in a group of five teams while the two of the best teams from each four groups will form the Super Eight.

The Super Eight will be divided into two groups from which the top two teams end up playing the semi-finals with the final taking place in Barbados on June 30.

Meanwhile, in the past, there have been numerous records registered and broken. This edition is expected to have a new flavour with players vying to do better for their respective sides.

In this article, we will shed light on some of the records which are held by top names like India's Virat Kohli, Bangladesh's Shakib Al Hasan and West Indies' great Chris Gayle.

Teams with most titles in T20 World Cup

West Indies and England are the only two teams to win T20 World Cup twice. - ICC

West Indies and England are the most successful teams in the history of the tournament, having both lifted the trophy on two occasions. England won the most recent T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022, beating Pakistan by five wickets in the final while they had their hands on the silverware for the first time in 2010.

West Indies won the title in 2012 and 2016 under the leadership. India (2007), Pakistan (2009), Sri Lanka (2014) and Australia (2021) have lifted the trophy once.

Team with most wins in T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka won the T20 World Cup in 2024. - ICC

The T20 World Cup has seen several cricketing powerhouses compete for the ultimate glory. Sri Lanka, with a total of 51 matches played, emerges at the top with the most wins. They have secured victory in 31 matches.

Following closely behind is Pakistan with 28 wins out of 47 matches. Third on the list is India with 27 wins in 44 matches. The 2021 Champions Australia are fourth on the list with 25 wins. England and Australia stand at fifth collectively with 24 wins.

Highest team totals in T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka 260–6 vs Kenya at Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg in 2007

England 230–8 vs South Africa at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai in 2016

South Africa 229/4 vs England at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai in 2016

India 218–4 vs England at Kingsmead Cricket Ground, Durban in 2007

South Africa 211/5 vs Scotland at The Oval, London in 2009

Highest individual scores in T20 World Cup

Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) 123 vs Bangladesh in Pallekele in 2012

Chris Gayle (West Indies) 117 vs South Africa in Johannesburg in 2007

Alex Hales (England) 116* vs Sri Lanka in Chittagong in 2014

Ahmed Shehzad (Pakistan) 111* vs Bangladesh in Dhaka in 2014

Rilee Rossouw (South Africa) 109 vs Bangladesh in Sydney in 2022

Most Runs

Virat Kohli holds numerous records in T20 World Cup. - ICC

Virat Kohli (India): 1141 runs in 25 innings

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka): 1,016 in 31 innings

Chris Gayle (West Indies): 965 in 31 innings

Rohit Sharma (India): 963 in 36 innings

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka): 897 runs in 34 innings

Highest Average

Virat Kohli (India): 81.50

Michael Hussey (Australia): 54.62

Kevin Pietersen (England): 44.61

Jos Buttler (England): 42.08

Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan): 41.45

Most 50+ scores

Virat Kohli (India): 14

Chris Gayle: (West Indies): 9

Rohit Sharma: (India): 9

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka): 7

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka): 7

Most sixes in T20 World Cup

 Chris Gayle has hit most sixes. - ICC

Chris Gayle (West Indies): 61

Rohit Sharma (India): 35

Jos Buttler (England): 33

Shane Watson (Australia): 33

Yuvraj Singh (India): 31

David Warner (Australia): 31

Most Wickets

Shakib Al Hasan is the leading wicket-taker in tournament’s history. - ICC

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh): 47

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan): 39

Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka): 38

Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan): 36

Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka): 35

Best bowling figures

Ajantha Mendis — 6/8, Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe in Hambantota, 2012

Rangana Herath — 5/3 Sri Lanka vs New Zealand in Chittagong, 2014

Umar Gul — 5/6, Pakistan vs New Zealand in London (The Oval), 2009

Sam Curran, — 5/10, England vs Afghanistan in Perth, 2022

Ahsan Malik, — 5/19, Netherlands vs South Africa in Chittagong, 2014

Best economy rate

Sunil Narine (West Indies): 5.17

Samuel Badree (West Indies): 5.52

Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka): 5.81

Daniel Vettori (New Zealand): 5.83

Nathan McCullum (New Zealand): 5.94

Most dismissals (wicketkeeper)

MS Dhoni (India): 32

Kamran Akmal (Pakistan): 30

Dinesh Ramdin (West Indies): 27

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka): 26

Quinton de Kock (South Africa): 22

Most catches (fielder)

AB de Villiers (South Africa): 23 catches

David Warner (Australia): 21 catches

Martin Guptill (New Zealand): 19 catches

Glenn Maxwell (Australia): 16 catches

Rohit Sharma (India): 16 catches