IPL 2024: Full list of award winners, Most Valuable Player, Orange Cap winner and more

Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets

By Web Desk
May 26, 2024
Sunil Narine won the Most Valuable Player award. - Screengrab

Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in the final of the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) in Chennai.

Kolkata bowled out Hyderabad for the lowest total in an IPL final, a mere 113, with Australia's left-arm quick Starc returning figures of 2-14.

Starc ended the IPL with two outstanding performances, including a match-winning 3-34 in the first Qualifier against the same opponents.

Kolkata's batters faced little difficulty, and despite the early departure of Sunil Narine, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who scored 39, and Venkatesh Iyer, unbeaten on 52, guided the team home with 9.3 overs to spare after a partnership of 91.

Left-handed batter Iyer reached his 50 in 24 balls and hit the winning runs to trigger celebrations for Kolkata.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer remained undefeated on six.

It marked Kolkata's second title victory at the venue, following their initial triumph in 2012.

Meanwhile, at the post-final ceremony, several awards were handed to the best performers of the tournament.

Here's the full list of award winners:

Most Valuable Player: Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Orange Cap winner: Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bengaluru)

Purple Cap winner: Harshal Patel (Punjab Kings)

Emerging Player of the Season: Nitish Reddy (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Best striker of the Season - Jake-Fraser McGurk (Delhi Capitals)

Super Sixes of the Season: Abhishek Sharma (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Most Fours of the Season : Travis Head (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Best catch of the season: Ramandeep Singh (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Fairplay team award - Sunrisers Hyderabad

Best ground and pitch award: Hyderabad Cricket Association