KKR vs SRH: Sunrisers Hyderabad record lowest first-innings total of IPL final

Pat Cummins' men were bowled out for 113

By Web Desk
May 26, 2024
Vaibhav Arora removed Travis Head for a duck. - BCCI

Sunrisers Hyderabad were bowled out for 113 against Kolkata Knight Riders in the final of the 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL).

This was the lowest first-innings total recorded in the 17-year history of the tournament.

Before this final, the lowest first-innings total in an IPL final was 129/8, scored by Mumbai Indians against Rising Pune Supergiant in 2017. However, MI won that final by one run in a thrilling conclusion. 

Three other totals below 150 have been successfully defended in an IPL final: 149 (MI vs CSK in 2019), 148 (MI vs CSK in 2013), and 143 (DC vs RCB in 2009).

The much-feared opening duo of Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head were removed inside the first two overs, meaning the SRH batting failed to get going. Heinrich Klaasen, Rahul Tripathi, and Nitish Kumar Reddy got starts but could not steer the innings to safety.

Andre Russell was the pick of the bowlers with figures of three for 19, while Harshit Rana and Mitchell Starc each took two wickets.

Playing XIs

KKR: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (captain), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Vaibhav Arora, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Impact subs: Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, KS Bharat, Sherfane Rutherford

SRH: Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (wicketkeeper), Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan

Impact subs: Umran Malik, Glenn Phillips, Mayank Markande, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar