ICC confirms fan park in Rawalpindi for India-Pakistan T20 World Cup match

The match will be played on June 9 in New York

May 26, 2024
Pakistan and India will come face-to-face on Sunday, June 9. -ICC

KARACHI: The highly-anticipated Pakistan-India match in the ICC T20 World Cup will be played on June 9th in New York but fans sitting 11,000 kilometers away in Rawalpindi will also be able to feel the game's intensity and cheer for the team Pakistan.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that a fan park will be set up in Rawalpindi, allowing fans to enjoy the ICC T20 World Cup match on a big screen.

“The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced a record number of fan parks to broadcast the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024, with nine live sites in five different countries. This brings the biggest cricket carnival to more communities than ever before in ICC World Cup history,” said an ICC statement.

“In total, 22 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 matches will be shown in various locations including New York City, New Delhi, and Rawalpindi, marking the highest number of fan parks for an ICC World Cup ever. The parks will feature live entertainment such as DJs, food and drink outlets, cricket ambassadors, and family activities, making it an unmissable experience for fans across the globe,” the statement added.

According to the ICC, 10 different fan parks will show the Group A game between India and Pakistan. These include Cedar Creek Park in Seaford, New York, hosted by Nassau County, the Indira Gandhi Indoor Arena in New Delhi, India, and Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in Pakistan.

The fan park in Rawalpindi will open for fans 90 minutes before the start of the game and will remain open until 60 minutes after the end of the play.

It must be noted that 55 games will be played across nine different venues in the West Indies and the USA during the T20 World Cup.

The venues in West Indies are Kensington Oval, Barbados; Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad; Providence Stadium, Guyana; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua; Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia; Arnos Vale Stadium, St Vincent.

Meanwhile, three venues will hold the matches in the USA — Eisenhower Park, New York; Lauderhill, Florida; and Grand Prairie, Texas.

Faizan Lakhani is Deputy Editor (Sports) at Geo News.