Injuries force Netherlands to make changes in T20 World Cup 2024 squad

The Dutchmen are preparing for the upcoming T20 World Cup with a tri-series against Scotland and Ireland

By Web Desk
May 23, 2024
Saqib Zulfiqar has played six T20Is for Netherlands. - ICC

The Netherlands have been forced to make changes in their T20 World Cup squad due to injuries suffered by Fred Klaassen and Daniel Doram.

The Dutchmen have added Kyle Klein, who was the lone travelling reserve, along with Saqib Zulfiqar to the squad as their replacements.

Klaasen experienced a recurrence of symptoms from a previously sustained stress fracture in his lower back, while Doran was ruled out due to a broken hand.

The Netherlands are preparing for the upcoming T20 World Cup with a tri-series against Scotland and Ireland.

They have so far convincingly defeated Scotland but narrowly lost to Ireland by one run in a close finish. Doran played in both matches, taking 2 for 35 and 2 for 27 respectively, whereas Klaassen has not featured at all.

The 27-year-old Zulfiqar has so far played six T20Is alongside 15 ODIs, securing nine wickets at an economy rate of 6.46.

Meanwhile, the 22-year-old Klein has participated in just one T20I and two ODIs to date. His T20I debut was against Nepal earlier this year, where he bowled one over without taking a wicket and conceded five runs.

Klaassen (Kent) and Bas de Leede (Durham) were the Dutch players permitted by their English counties to miss the Vitality T20 Blast and were released for the T20 World Cup. In contrast, the experienced pair of Colin Ackermann (Durham) and Roelof van der Merwe (Somerset) had to remain with their counties.

Scott Edwards will continue to captain the side, as he did at the 2022 T20 World Cup.

Netherlands are placed in Group D of the T20 World Cup, which starts on June 1, alongside Bangladesh, Nepal, South Africa and Sri Lanka, and start with a game against Nepal on June 4 in Dallas.

Netherlands squad for the T20 World Cup

Aryan Dutt, Bas de Leede, Kyle Klein, Logan van Beek, Max O'Dowd, Michael Levitt, Paul van Meekeren, Scott Edwards (c/wk), Saqib Zulfiqar, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru, Tim Pringle, Vikramjit Singh, Vivian Kingma, Wesley Barresi