T20 World Cup 2024: ICC names match officials for Pakistan vs India clash

The ICC event will be played in the United States and West Indies

By Web Desk
May 22, 2024
Richard Illingworth is one of the most experienced umpires in cricket. — ECB

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday named the match officials for the most anticipated clash of the T20 World Cup 2024 between Pakistan and India which will be played at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York, on June 9.

This will be the eighth outing between the arch-rivals in T20 World Cups. India lead the race with five wins and Pakistan’s only victory came in 2021 in Dubai while one match ended without any result.

The experienced Richard Illingworth will accompany Rodney Tucker in the high-voltage clash. The former has so far served as on-field umpire in 27 matches while the latter has the experience of officiating in 52 shorter-format games.

The experienced umpiring duo will be supported by Chris Gaffaney as the TV umpire while Shahid Saikat will serve as the fourth umpire.

Saikat, from Bangladesh, will become the first Bangladeshi to officiate at the T20 World Cup. His previous experience includes officiating five matches at the 50-over World Cup 2023, as well as serving on the panel for two Women’s 50-over World Cups and the Women’s T20 World Cup 2018.

Match Officials for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

Umpires: Chris Brown, Kumar Dharmasena, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Allahudien Paleker, Richard Kettleborough, Jayaraman Madanagopal, Nitin Menon, Sam Nogajski, Ahsan Raza, Rashid Riaz, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Shahid Saikat, Rodney Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson and Asif Yaqoob.

Match referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andrew Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath.

Remember, 55 games will be played across nine different venues in the West Indies and the United States (US) from June 1 in the World Cup.

The venues in West Indies are Kensington Oval, Barbados; Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad; Providence Stadium, Guyana; Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua; Darren Sammy Cricket Ground, St Lucia; Arnos Vale Stadium, St Vincent.

Meanwhile, three venues will hold the matches in the United States — Eisenhower Park, New York; Lauderhill, Florida; and Grand Prairie, Texas.

Groups for T20 World Cup 2024

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, United States

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal