T20 World Cup 2024: Sandeep Lamichhane denied US visa

The Nepali spinner was recently acquitted in a rape case by Patan High Court

By Web Desk
May 22, 2024
Sandeep Lamichhane bowls during a training session. — CAN

Nepal’s spinner Sandeep Lamichhane claimed that he has been denied the United States (US) visa and is likely to miss the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 which will be played in the US and West Indies from June 1.

Lamichhane was given a clean chit in the rape case by the Patan High Court earlier this month as a two-bench of judges overturned the verdict of the Kathmandu District Court, which sentenced the 23-year-old to eight years in prison, citing lack of evidence in the case.

After the decision was overturned, the Cricket Nepal president Chatur Bahadur confirmed that they would do everything necessary to make sure that the 23-year-old is included in Nepal’s squad to appear in their first-ever World Cup.

"He has been set free by the law, and we are happy for him. He was sentenced to jail by the lower courts, but today the high court set him free. We have removed the suspension as well, and we have time until the 25th to include him in the World Cup squad," Nepal board president Bahdur said.

However, on Wednesday Lamichhane took to his X, formerly Twitter, account where he confirmed that the US Embassy in Nepal denied his visa just like in 2019. He apologised to all the fans of Nepal as he would not be able to participate in the tournament.

“And the @USEmbassyNepal did it again what they did back in 2019, they denied my Visa for the T-20 World Cup happening in the USA and West Indies. Unfortunate. I am sorry to all the well wishers of Nepal Cricket. @USAmbNepal @CricketNep,” he posted on X.

Sandeep Lamichhane's post on X. 

Remember, Lamichhane was last seen playing for Nepal during a T20I match against Kenya in 2023.

Nepal’s squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Paudel (c), Aasif Sheikh, Anil Kumar Sah, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Lalit Rajbanshi, Karan KC, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Pratis GC, Sundeep Jora, Abinash Bohara, Sagar Dhakal, Kamal Singh Airee.