Manchester City win Premier League for record fourth consecutive time

Pep Guardiola’s men claimed 91 points at the competition

By Web Desk
May 19, 2024
The Cityzens have been winning PL since 2021. - AFP

Manchester City have become the first team to win the English league title four seasons in a row after defeating West Ham United at the Etihad by 3-1 on May 19.

Pep Guardiola’s men claimed 91 points at the conclusion of 38 league matches and finished two points ahead of Arsenal, who won 2-1 against Everton.

Phil Foden gave the Cityzens the lead after just two minutes. The English star added another before the interval, and despite Mohammed Kudus pulling one back, midfielder Rodri restored the home side's two-goal advantage with a strike from the edge of the area after 59 minutes.

City survived a late scare when West Ham had a second goal disallowed by VAR for handball, however, their victory was never seriously in doubt.

The win marked a remarkable run of 19 wins and four draws since their last defeat in the league, at Aston Villa on December 6.

City have now bagged six out of the past seven Premier League titles. Last season, they joined Huddersfield, Arsenal, Liverpool, and Manchester United, twice, in winning the top flight three years in a row.

Now Guardiola’s team have achieved something no other side has managed since the English league was established in 1888, 136 years ago.

On May 25, they will aim to become the first side to complete the domestic Double in successive seasons when they face Manchester United in the FA Cup final at Wembley.