PAK vs IRE: PCB rewards top performers of second Ireland T20I

Mohammad Rizwan was one of Pakistan's top performer as they chased down the 194-run target within 17 overs

By Web Desk
May 13, 2024
Mohammad Rizwan (L) with Wahab Riaz inside the dressing room after the match. — PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday rewarded the top performers of Pakistan during the second T20I against Ireland where the visitors won the match by seven wickets to level the three-match series.

After losing the first T20I by five wickets, the Babar Azam-led unit had to win the second T20I at all costs and a brilliant performance by Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman and Azam Khan cruised them to a comfortable win.

Senior Manager of the Pakistan cricket team Wahab Riaz distributed the Impact Player trophy to Rizwan, who was crucial with the bat, and the Best Fielder trophy to Saim Ayub.


Remember, Pakistan struggled initially in the chase, losing Saim Ayub (6) and skipper Babar Azam (0). But, Rizwan and Fakhar paired up to form a gigantic partnership. Their 140-run partnership is Pakistan's highest for the 3rd wicket in T20Is, breaking the record of 105 between Rizwan and Haider Ali.

Rizwan remained not out on 75 off 46 balls with the help of fours sixes and six fours while Fakhar hit 78 off 40, powered with six fours and as many sixes.

Wicketkeeper-batter Azam Khan took on the Ireland bowlers, smacking 30* off 10 which included a four and four maximums.

Meanwhile, in the first innings, Ireland posted 193/7 after being put into bat first by Pakistan, their highest-ever total at the Clontarf Cricket Club.

Pakistan opted to field and started well with Shaheen Afridi picking the first two wickets. He dismissed Paul Stirling (16) and Andy Balbirnie (11).

But Harry Tector and Lorcan Tucker recovered for Ireland with a 62-run partnership. Tector was the best batter for the home side, scoring 51 off 34 balls while Tucker made 32 off 28 balls.

Curtis Campher also chipped in with a 13-ball 22 while Gareth Delany slammed a 10-ball 28 cameo and remained not out to post Ireland's highest-ever total at Clontarf Cricket Club.

Shaheen picked three wickets but conceded 49 runs while Mohammad Amir, in his first game of the series, finished with 1/44.

Abbas Afridi took two wickets for 33 runs while Naseem Shah picked a wicket for 36 runs.

The series decider will be held at the same venue on April 14.