Pakistan's T20 World Cup squad: Kamran Akmal excludes Haris Rauf

T20 World Cup 2024 will be played in the United States and West Indies from June 1

By Web Desk
May 01, 2024
Kamran Akmal (L) didn't include Haris Rauf in his Pakistan's World Cup squad. — AFP/ICC

Former wicketkeeper-batter Kamran Akmal named his Pakistan’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 which will be played in the United States and West Indies from June 1.

Akmal, who was part of Pakistan’s squad that won the 2009 T20 World Cup by beating Sri Lanka in the final, didn’t include Haris Rauf in his final 15 that will travel to the US to compete in the mega event.

Rauf got injured in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 9 and has been on the sidelines ever since. He didn’t participate in Pakistan’s five-match T20I series against New Zealand but has started practising in the nets again.

Akmal’s squad included the opening pair of Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam, the same one that opened the innings for Pakistan in their last three T20I tournaments.

He also included the likes of Irfan Khan Niazi, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim and others who are known to create impact with their power-hitting down the order.

Kamran Akmal’s Pakistan T20 World Cup squad

Babar Azam (c), Muhammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Irfan khan Niazi, Iftikhar Ahmad, Azam khan (wk), Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen shah Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Usman Khan, Saim Ayub/Abrar Ahmad, Abbas Afridi, Usama Mir/Aamir Jamal

As per sources, Pakistan’s official squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 will be announced after the conclusion of the first T20I against England, which will take place on May 22.

The initial deadline for squad submission for T20 World Cup was May 1 but the teams can make changes till 25th of the same month. After that, any changes will require approval from ICC's Technical Committee.

Pakistan's schedule of upcoming matches

Tour of Ireland

May 10: First T20I at Clontarf

May 12: Second T20I at Clontarf

May 14: Third T20I at Clontarf

Tour of England

May 22: First T20I at Leeds

May 25: Second T20I at Birmingham

May 28: Third T20I at Cardiff

May 30: Fourth T20I at The Oval

T20 World Cup 2024

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill