Ex-BCCI president backs Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma to open for India in T20 World Cup

The mega event is starting from June 1

By Web Desk
April 22, 2024
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. - ICC

The opening pair of India is yet to be decided with many in contention to bat alongside captain Rohit Sharma in the T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held in the West Indies and the USA.

Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill and Yashasvi Jaiswal are the candidates to open with Rohit but former Indian captain and ex-BCCI president is backing Kohli and Rohit to open.

With the squad selection for the World Cup around the corner, both Kohli and Rohit have shown excellent form for their respective IPL teams this season.

In an interview with PTI, Ganguly expressed confidence that both Rohit and Kohli will undoubtedly be part of the upcoming T20 World Cup in June.

“Both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will definitely go to West Indies and USA. Its a call for selectors whom they will open with but if you ask me personally both Rohit and Virat should open for India in the T20 World Cup,” said Ganguly.

This isn't the first occasion on which Ganguly has supported both individuals to be included in the T20 World Cup squad. Before their reinstatement in the T20I team earlier this year, the former BCCI President had stated that Rohit should lead the team and that Kohli should also be included.

"Of course, Rohit should captain the team in the T20I World Cup. Virat Kohli also should be there. Virat Kohli is an outstanding player, nothing will happen (to return after 14 months)," said Ganguly.

Kohli and Rohit have been in excellent form for RCB and MI, respectively this season, even though their teams haven't performed up to standard.

Kohli currently leads the Orange Cap standings with 379 runs from 8 matches this season, boasting an average of 63.17. The RCB star has also maintained a strike rate above 150 while opening the batting for RCB.

Rohit has scored 303 runs in the IPL so far from 8 matches, which is the best performance he has had in the past few seasons in the IPL.