PAK vs NZ: New Zealand to bowl first in third T20I against Pakistan

The third T20I is being played at the Pindi Cricket Stadium

By Web Desk
April 21, 2024
New Zealand's Michael Bracewell and Pakistan's Babar Azam during the toss. — PCB

New Zealand's skipper Michael Bracewell won the toss and opted to bowl first in the third T20I against Pakistan at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

The toss took place at 7:00 PM (PST) in Rawalpindi where both the skippers, Babar Azam and Michael Bracewell, were present.

Pakistan made one change from their side that defeated the Kiwis in the second T20I on Saturday with Abbas Afridi coming in place of Mohammad Amir, who played his first international match after almost four years.

On the other hand, New Zealand put Zak Foulkes and Will O'Rourke in the playing XI over Jacob Duffy and Ben Sears respectively.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Irfan Niazi, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Abrar Ahmed.

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (c), Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Zak Foulkes, Dean Foxcroft, Cole McConchie, James Neesham, Will O'Rourke, Tim Robinson, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi.

Remember, Pakistan lead the five-match T20I series by 1-0 after beating the Black Caps in the second T20I in a one-sided encounter. The first match was called off due to rain.

It is also worth noting that Babar Azam, who was recently appointed as white-ball captain, became the second most sucessful captain (79 wins) in Pakistan's history in terms of victories after winning the second T20I.

Imran Khan, who led Pakistan to their only World Cup win in 1992 after beating England in the final at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), remains on first with 89 wins as a skipper in 187 matches.

After the first three matches at the Pindi Cricket Stadium, both sides will move to Lahore, where they will play the remaining two T20Is of the series on 25 and 27 April, respectively.

The series is being broadcast live on Pakistan’s first sports channel Geo Super.

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series schedule

April 18 — 1st T20I, Rawalpindi

April 20 — 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi

April 21 — 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

April 25 — 4th T20I, Lahore

April 27 — 5th T20I, Lahore