Junaid Khan criticises New Zealand’s top players for preferring IPL over Pakistan T20Is

The five-match series begins on April 18

By Web Desk
April 03, 2024
Junaid Khan. - PCB

Pacer Junaid Khan was left unimpressed with New Zealand’s top players for preferring the Indian Premier League (IPL) over the upcoming five-match T20I tour of Pakistan.

It must be noted that Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner and Kane Williamson won’t feature in the series due to Indian Premier League commitments.

“It's sad to see leagues are being prioritised over the team that gave them all the respect. 11/12 senior [New Zealand] players are not available for an international series,” Junaid posted on X, which was formerly known as Twitter.

Colin Munro was also unavailable for selection, while Tim Southee has been rested.

Will Young was also unavailable for selection due to his contract with Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club, as was Tom Latham, who is awaiting the birth of his second child.

Wellington’s Tim Robinson and Canterbury’s Will O’Rourke have been picked for the first time in New Zealand’s T20I squad.

The New Zealand squad will depart for Pakistan next Friday (April 12), with the first match in Rawalpindi on Thursday the 18th of April.

New Zealand T20I squad for Pakistan tour

Michael Bracewell (c), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Jacob Duffy, Dean Foxcroft, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Will O’Rourke, Tim Robinson, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert (WK), Ish Sodhi

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series schedule

14 April – New Zealand arrive in Pakistan

16-17 April – Training/practice

18 April – 1st T20I, Rawalpindi

20 April – 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi

21 April – 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi

25 April – 4th T20I, Lahore

27 April – 5th T20I, Lahore